OSHA Can Read!

Let me tell you a quick story…

While conducting a training session on OSHA inspections and what to expect, a coworker of mine pointed out that OSHA will often watch the news and read the paper to see what is going on around town. If they see something not quite right they can and will show up on your job for an inspection. Well since this training class was out of town, I went back to my hotel room to put my feet up and grabbed the local paper. Guess what I saw on the front page?

20120704-231055.jpg

Now I don’t know about you but, I see a few OSHA violations in this front page photo. If I were an OSHA compliance officer I would be pretty psyched about making a visit to this contractor. Hey front page news is prime pickings.

Something to think about as you work on projects or put out advertisements and mailings. Is the photo doing your company justice or could it cause harm? OSHA can read and they will follow up on something that appears to be hazardous or puts employee in harms way.

Leave a Reply

